Consumption and Social Identity

Whilst many will be spending the bank holiday, relaxing or working depending on the sector you work in. I will be completing this essay on consumption. 2500 words and I’m surrounded by books before I’ve even gone to the library!

This is the statement up for debate :

“Our position within a certain social group, and a group’s position in relation to another
group, is articulated through the consumption and display of certain key objects with symbolic value. Therefore a major way that both self-identity and social identity is established and maintained is through the consumption of particular goods and services.” Paterson, M (2006 p.55)

This is what I have to do to it : To what extent do you agree with this statement? Illustrate your answer using examples of different consumer goods and services and the arguments of relevant writers.

Paterson’s book Consumption and Everyday life is a really interesting read, although hard to follow in places. It is a book that to understand it fully you need to read the 10 other books he refers to! It also has references to Fight Club, Dawn of the dead, Shaun of the Dead, Super Size Me and the Matrix.
I have found 15 journal articles to start me off for building my understanding of the topic as well as a copy of Chuck Palahniuk Fight Club to keep me focused.

Are there any writers? Themes? Films? or even Music that can be linked to this statement that can show consumption at it’s finest

That’s All For Now
Amy

Leave a comment