Learning How to Relax

Over the next few days in an effort to relieve stress I will be learning how to relax. Not necessarily as easy as many people will have you believe.

Step 1 : Turn off all distractions

Okay although I am typing at the netbook now, previous to this all computers were off, television off, record player off, phone set to silent and lights off. This is pretty good for putting my mind at ease, the local area to me is surprisingly noisy. People walking up and down the street, dogs barking, kids screaming and car doors being opened and closed.

Step 2 : Read

The main thought on this step is read what? Fiction? Non-Fiction? Text book for my studies or a comedy? Read food packets? I skipped this step for today as my eyes were hurting and words have been difficult to understand.

Step 3 : Sleep

To many of my university friends Wednesday afternoon has always meant nap time, but napping is not something that comes naturally to all of us. My advice is, get cosy in bed, get duvet tucked in above your head and close your eyes. Even if you don’t stay there long the rest will help to ease your mind.

Step 4 : Do something that makes you happy

There are hundreds of things that you could enjoy doing, I won’t be listing all of the possibilities that’s for sure. For me it normally involves a nice meal and just ignoring the world for a few hours. Exercise is another good way to relax as the body reacts positively to a bit of exercise, it can help get rid of pent-up energy as well.

I’m about to try all of the above steps to ease my stress. Comment below with any tips you have for relaxing.

That’s All For Now
Amy